New Fruit!

by

The most exciting thing happened today: I saw cherries and blueberries at Keenan’s today, along with strawberries! The fruit selection is expanding! I love it! Summer fruit is my favorite.

One of my favorite things to do with summer fruit is make what I call “Fruit Pizza”. I like to have this in the evening with a salad for dinner, or cold (or reheated) in the morning for breakfast. Or even for a dessert, or as a finger food. I first made this later in the summer, with plums, but I think it would be marvelous with blueberries or strawberries, and if you wanted to do the work of pitting – cherries! Really, any fruit will do. This is barely a recipe, but use it as a base to play off of.

Fruit Pizza
Make or buy pizza dough. Whole wheat? Plain? Your choice, of course.

Get yourself a half pound of fresh ricotta. Maybe the Buffalo milk ricotta, or Shepard’s Valley sheepsmilk ricotta. You want fresh ricotta, not pressed ricotta salada. OK?

Get a pint to a quart of berries of your choosing.

Mix a tablespoon of brown sugar or honey into the ricotta. If you want to get fancy – put in a tablespoon of chopped fresh herbs – maybe lavender buds (YUM). Lavender and honey is particularly divine. Season berries with another tablespoon of sugar or honey.

Spread out your pizza dough. I do it on a cookie sheet covered with tinfoil and use a little spray canola oil. You can do it however you like! Top pizza with berries and rictotta. Heat in a 450 degree oven until ricotta is lightly browned, or the edges of your dough are.

EAT and love it!

*******

In other news: Still no Honey Hollow Farms. I am bereft! And worried! Are they OK?

~baconbit

2 Responses to “New Fruit!”

  1. Amy Says:

    Cherries and blueberries??? Ohmigod ohmigod ohmigod!!! I HAVE to get to the greenmarket on a regular basis now. 🙂 I may go during lunch today, but I’m hoping to make Fridays my normal market day, since I don’t work on Fridays.

  2. kathryn Says:

    I’m worried too! I think it’s been the rain. Rain makes mushrooms grow but you can’t forage when it’s TOO wet, right? We need a rainy weekend followed by a sunny Monday or Tuesday, I think.

Leave a Reply

