Don’t Passover the Market

by

Happy Passover everyone! Sorry, but the pun had to be made.

Today at the market, there’s very little that is definitely kosher, but I saw some lovely macaroons at Baker’s Bounty if you like coconut. Even if you don’t keep kosher, and are not Jewish, if you like coconut, macaroons are delicious!

Plenty of honey and apples to form the base of your charoses. And plenty of bitter herbs.

Other than that, it’s still a slow beginning – but the signs of spring are in full bloom as they say. Some young scallions and lots of herbs that were greenhoused waiting for your windowsills. Microgreens abound at the market, and plenty of eggs. Cayuga Organics is out today, selling lovely dried beans. I got a nice pint or so of pinto beans for about $3, which I will be cooking up with some black forest ham that my mother in law sent me. She is from the Black Forest region in Germany and sends us a ham every year. Delish!

As you can tell – I do NOT keep kosher. What can I say? I am a terrible Jew – but at least I won’t cook my beans and ham tonight of all nights. Instead, I’ll be at my mother’s house tonight, eating charoses, bitter herbs, and drinking a token glass of wine to celebrate the passage of our people from slavery in Egypt.

Don’t forget to set a place for Elijah, and leave the door cracked open to let him in, and be sure to practice hospitality with strangers.

~baconbit

PS: Before I forget – on Monday I bought a dozen of Yunno’s pullet eggs ($5). They are INCREDIBLE. The yolks are not yellow but a beautiful shade of orange. I used six of them to make egg salad, and my egg salad looked like I had put tumeric or saffron in it, when all it had were eggs, mayo, mustard, black pepper, a pinch of salt, and a spoonful of pickled garlic seeds. FANTASTICALLY DELICIOUS! I cannot wait to make a yellow cake with these beauties.

Leave a Reply

