The Hunter’s Heart

by

Today I went to market and as usual, stopped off for my fill of wild mushrooms. Today our man at Honey Hollow had “Hunter’s Heart”, also known as “Totlcoxcatl” when in Mexico. I’ve never had these strange, lumpy, white mushrooms before, but when I am told they are delicious, I tend to believe it. I’ll be thoroughly cooking these over moderate heat tomorrow night, along with some fresh garlic, and steak from Acadian Pastures.

Speaking of meats, there were lovely sausages available everywhere today.

This past peach season has been incredible, and it’s my goal to can some peaches for the cold winter months ahead. To that end, I picked up 16 or so fat peaches today – a dozen for canning in spiced vinegar syrup, a few for making into honey compote to eat with breakfast, and one for snacking on this afternoon.

A lovely day indeed.

~baconbit

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

