Moooooore Ovolos

by

Just a quick post today – I swept through the market this morning, grabbing this and that. I won’t be home for dinner tonight so I grabbed what could be stashed in the work mini-fridge without too much trouble. That meant no great big frothy bags of greens, or voluminous beans in their pods. Instead I stocked up on meat & eggs for the coming weekend when we have guests. Because I love mushrooms, I headed to Honey Hollow where I got a beautiful 1/2 pint of truffle-like black trumpet mushrooms. They had a basket of Ovolos again and I chatted up another customer encouraging him to try them. Just like I encourage you to!

There’s the maple breakfast sausage this week at Tamarack Hollow – and maple kielbasa! Go get yer sausage on!

I’m hoping we have another week or two of peaches. Peach season has been incredible this year. I’d like to can a few for the cold winter months ahead!

~baconbit

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Moooooore Ovolos”

  1. Amy Says:

    I looked at those mushrooms today (and thought of you) and felt completely intimidated by them. I had NO IDEA what to do with them. Last night at The Farm I had a GORGEOUS mushroom streudel. If I knew how to do that (or, frankly, had the time right now), mushrooms like that would be worth the money. But I don’t know if it is right now. So I’ll live vicariously through you. 🙂

    I DID, however, get a HUGE bag of lima beans. Hurray!

    If you have a method for canning peaches that doesn’t involve adding sugar to them, please post about it on the blog. I’d love to have some good summer peaches this winter, but I hate defiling their perfection with sugar. They’re sweet enough as it is. 🙂 I got a few gorgeous white peaches from Locust today, as well as some sugar plums. Yummy.

  2. baconbit Says:

    Amy,

    When I have doubts about mushrooms, I just ask my mushroom man for tips. He’s good at that.

    I don’t know any canning method offhand for sugarless peaches. If you really want to avoid sugar, I recommend freezing.

    For myself, I think I have a recipe for lightly pickled spiced peaches, which is what I’m going to go for!

Leave a Reply

