Of Squash and Carrots

by

For weeks now, there have been summer squash everywhere. It is ubiquitous, and we never even mention it on the blog. While I like summer squash quite a bit, I sort of regard it as a vegetable filler. A lot of fiber and fullness for very little in terms of calories – and oftimes taste. I’ve grown to love Yunno’s “Avocado Squash” which has an excellent texture and is not overly watery like a lot of zucchinis – but still, I don’t mention it that often.

The squash I can never get enough of is autumn squashes – difficult to peel, their sweet flesh is music to my mouth, and I’m waiting for my favorites to reappear like a schoolgirl waiting to catch a glimpse of her crush on the basketball team.

I saw a tiny glimpse today! DJ’s had two types of hard shelled squash out on their table today, labeled “Chinese” Squash. To me though, it looked like one was a ghost pumpkin type, and the second was butternut.

I didn’t buy them, but soon. My favorite squash is Hubbard, and I’m hoping to see a few this year at the market. Last year I dragged more than one home on the subway. When you consider that they look rather like Yoda, in coloring, size, shape, and impassivity, this is revealed as no mean feat.

Today though, I skipped it. Instead of that, I bought a bunch of red skinned carrots from John Maduras because I have been dying to try this recipe for Carottes Râpées. I love all things French (I am a bit of a francophile) and have thought ever since I first read this recipe, that it would be simply gorgeous with red carrots, the colors being yellow at the core, and red at the outer edge. Besides, David Lebovitz never steers me wrong.

So, tonight I shall break out the manoline, and grate some carrots. I’m going to serve it alongside duck fat flavored beans & rice. Or a stirfry of pork & bok choy. Hey, I may be a francophile, but I’m a New Yorker first and foremost. The melting pot is where I feel most comfortable!

~baconbit

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Of Squash and Carrots”

  1. Amy Says:

    You have officially made my day. I’d gotten out of the habit of picking up the gorgeous carrots and beets in the market because, in spite of my best intentions, I never end up doing enough with them and always end up wasting them. But with my batshit crazy schedule lately, I’ve been ALL ABOUT things one can make ahead and quickly pull out of the fridge for serving. This carrot recipe sounds PERFECT. And I’m so happy the recipe mentioned possibly grating in some beets, too, because, oh yeah, am I trying that.

    I know what I’m getting at the market on Wednesday now. 🙂

    And I’m so with you on summer squash. I went through a phase in my life over a decade ago where dinner wasn’t dinner unless I steamed zucchini and/or yellow squash to go with it. I’m so tired of that boring stuff now that I can hardly stand it. But winter squash? YUMMY! Especially butternut.

Leave a Reply

