What am I? Chopped Liver?

by

Today is nightshade day at the market – everywhere I saw a multitude of peppers of all sorts, table after table of heirloom tomatoes, and piles of eggplant. Now is the time to stock up, roast slowly, and freeze for winter’s delight.

Last week I was dithering between a Tamarack Hollow duck and chicken. I finally decided on the chicken and paid and took my prize home.

As I prepped it for roasting, I thought, “These legs seem smaller than usual. And the heart and liver! So big! I’ve never seen a chicken with a neck this long and meaty.”

Oblivious, I roasted away, and when I pulled out the pan, I thought, “So much fat melted off this! I really ought to keep it in the ‘fridge….” The liver was so huge I roasted that too and turned it into chopped liver.

It wasn’t until the next day, as I sat snacking on my chopped liver, and thinking about how much it tasted like paté, that I realized I must have bought a duck and not a chicken.

I should have realized it earlier – I wish I had. My duck would have been more tender with a different roasting techinique – however, I’m so glad I saved that liver! Chopped liver never tasted so good! Plus, I still have about 1/2-3/4 of a cup of duck fat in the ‘fridge, plus duck bones in the freezer. Stock! But what to do with all that delicious duckfat?!

Accidentally High-End Chopped Liver
1 big duck liver from your duck from Tamarack Hollow
1 hard boiled egg, peeled
5 leaves fresh sage
3 tablespoons reserved duckfat
1 clove of garlic, diced
fresh pepper & salt

1) As you prep your duck, either sauté your duck liver, or roast it alongside in a little tinfoil pan, in the oven.

2) Fry up your garlic & sage in the duckfat.

3) Combine ingredients in a food-processor. I use the food-processer attachment on my stick blender!

4) Puree into a paste.

5) Spread on crackers or bread, either immediately or keep in fridge to snack on over a few days. Good enough for guests, homey enough for lunch. Better than your bubbehs, but don’t tell her I said that!

Enjoy!

~baconbit

Tags:

2 Responses to “What am I? Chopped Liver?”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Duck confit! Duck fat french fries!

    http://chowhound.chow.com/topics/346619

  2. baconbit Says:

    @ Anonymous:

    The link you provided had an intriguing idea: corn popped in duckfat! OMG! For a girl allergic to dairy, that might just be heaven on earth!

Leave a Reply

