BACON bag! Blueberries! Cherries! Oh my!

by

beingreen took a bunch of FANTASTIC photos (all below) today at the market. I, like BG, got gifted with an “I Love Bacon” bag that I will cherish and wear with pride. Just a quick note: blueberries are here along with cherries! Philips & Keenan have blueberries, but Keenan’s are less expensive than Phillips. Near Keenan is a farm stand with cherries at $5 per pound. Fantastic! That’s it for me – the rest is all beingreen.
~baconbit

Tamarack Hollow Bacon Bag!

Today is my lucky day! 😀 As I sauntered through the market this morning, I was lured to Tamarack Hollow by the sight of sausages. Mike sold me on the Maple Breakfast sausage, which he says is a rare find because it is difficult to make. Say no more, I had to try it… and with my purchase he gave me a bonus “I Love You Bacon” bag that I will cherish forever. Hurry over to get your bacon while supplies last! ~bg

The next delight that caught my eye were the CHERRIES at Locust Grove Farm. These are the first cherries of summer at the market, as far as I can tell, and they are GOOD. ~bg

blueberries!

Blueberries have arrived at Kernan Farms, and so have the mounds of summer squash which are exciting to explore once again… ~bg

And Kira’s garlic and mixed greens are fabulous at Evolutionary Organics. Last night I had blackfish and greens sauteed with a whole bulb of Kira’s fresh garlic… early in the summer it is more tender and mild than late summer garlic, so don’t be afraid to eat a lot of it! The green mix has bonus “wild greens” ie, edible weeds, from Kira’s farm, such as wild spinach and purslane. I love adible weeds and believe that they are truly good for our health and have no nutritional data to back this up. ~bg

Another exciting farm is the French Vegetable and Green Farm (for lack of knowing their name) that has great greens today. Chervil (I have no idea how to use this yet… send us your ideas please) is hot, and I received a recommendation from a fellow shopper for the french baby leeks. I promptly purchased them for a sautee this evening. Will report back. The wild arugula here looks precious. Definitely requires a special preparation… beyond salad. ~bg

Berried Treasures has nice looking red potatoes and Tristar Strawberries! Tristar are a cross with a wild strawberry…the taste is so much sweeter! ~bg

Migliorelli Farm has buckets of fresh basil for your salads and shell peas are $4 per pound now.

And lastly, Cherry Lane Farms has greenhouse heirlooms! So early!

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

