Late Report

by

Hey all,

Sorry for the late posting but LIFE has been getting in the way. I took a quick loop this morning around the market and saw lots of strawberries, the first beets (Yunno & Muddy River Farm), and the fact that Migorelli’s had sugar snap peas. Plenty of greens in the market today, and lovely clams at the fish mongers. Eve’s Cidery is here today – their cider is fantastic! Try some 🙂

Both DairyQueen and beingreen are out today – and I’m only in for a half day. Wow. Summer is upon us at last!

It’s really gorgeous out – so hit the market. I hope to have a fuller report for you on Monday.

~baconbit

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Late Report”

  1. Amy Says:

    It looks like my strawberry picking plans are getting canceled AGAIN this week (forecast of thunderstorms in Princeton, NJ). I may just have to get to the market and stock up on some berries. And sugar snap peas? Yum! 🙂

  2. Danielle Says:

    Huh! I was out there around 11ish and there were no strawberries to be found. And I’ve yet to see morels anywhere.

  3. Brenda from Flatbush Says:

    Wowza–this blog is a great idea!!! Wish it’d been around back when I used to trek into Union Square every Saturday from the depths of Brooklyn. Now we’ve got our own more modest (or as I like to think of it, less overwhelming) Greenmarket at Grand Army Plaza; I try to do a report every Saturday online, but it’s more photographic than gastronomic. Many of the same vendors are there (Evolutionary, Cato, Lynnhaven, Ronnybrook), a few that Union doesn’t have, I suspect (the artisanal pickle guy?), and boy do I wish a few were here (Blew Farms for peppers and pork!) Keep up the great work, and come to Brooklyn some time to sample a very different Greenmarket vibe! (We have others, but GAP is the biggie)

  4. baconbit Says:

    Danielle – my report was late, but my observations were from early in the a.m. So sorry!

    Brenda – all markets are glorious as far as I am concerned 🙂 We do have at least two artisinal pickle people. I tend to make my own and not buy them, but will try and report when they are out here 🙂 Thanks for the reminder!

Leave a Reply

