Japanese Turnips and Furikake

by

Last week I tried Japanese turnips for the first time. I bought them from Mignorelli’s – and today I got them again but this time Cunuco (spelling?). They are beautiful white globes, thin skinned, and O! So lovely and sweet! At $3 a bunch, they are a great bargain – and you can eat the greens! A double dose of goodness for your moola!

I try to procure most of my food locally – but there are some things that I don’t hold to doing locally only, and the big one is seasonings and spices. Lately I have been crazy for furikake, a Japanese condiment of crushed toasted sesame seeds, seaweed, sugar and salt. I make mine with just salt, sesame seeds, and nori all crushed up in a mortar and pestle. I love it on hard boiled eggs (I just had some from Tellos actually for breakfast!), and rice, and steamed shrimp, and Japanese turnips!

Here is how I’ll be preparing mine tonight:

Cut the greens from the turnips, wash, and put aside for a little bit. Wash the turnips and cut off the tap roots, the top stubs, and quarter the globes. Do not peel! They are thin skinned and the vitamins all live in the skin!

Place the turnip quarters in a steamer (I got mine for $15 in Chinatown) and steam for about 15-20 minutes. When tender, sprinkle with furikake.

While your turnip globes are steaming, heat up your wok and prep your turnip greens by shredding them into long strips. Take the green garlic you bought at Yunnos, with the gently swelling bulbs, and cut up a whole one: strips, dice, whatever you like best (I like strips). Sauté your garlic, and then add your shredded greens. When all is tender through and through, add a splash of soy sauce and sesame seed oil (YUM).

Serve with your favorite protein (in my case some broiled fish) and rice. Revel in the spicy bitterness of turnip greens, and the tender sweetness of the turnips themselves, and the interplay of umami and salt of the furikake.

~baconbit

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Japanese Turnips and Furikake”

  1. Kaci Says:

    Thanks so much for posting this recipe. I was just searching for simple, but compelling japanese turnip recipes and I found this. It sounds delicious and I’m going to make some right now!

Leave a Reply

