A bit of follow up and a bit of new

by

Thought I’d report back on some of my farm purchases from last week and one from the winter.  Last night, after a couple of hours of brining, I roasted my chicken from Grazin’ Angus Acres (bought on Friday).  I slipped some salted Ronnybrook butter under the skin, placed it in a cast iron skillet, threw in some chopped potatoes and onion, drizzled with olive oil, then cooked it a 400 for about an hour.  While that was roasting I made a really simple rhubarb pie (pie crust recipe from Alice Water’s “The Art of Simple Food” cookbook).  The pie baked while we finished up the potatoes (just removed the chicken, left the rest in the skillet and browned them a little more on the stovetop) and washed the greens for a salad.  A couple of friends to share the meal and a couple glasses of wine made for an excellent evening.  I liked cooking most of the meal in one pan, less dishwashing to do!  

The other item I wanted to report on is the sheepskin rug I purchased this winter from 3- Corner Field Farm (Karen, the farmer, is only at the market in the winter, selling lamb, mutton, soaps, cheese, and rugs).  I am in love with this rug.  It is warm and cozy, I love the way it smells and I love the texture.  Visitors to our apartment inevitably end up snuggling with it by the end of the evening.  It received so much love I needed to wash it.  Karen had provided washing instructions and I wanted to report back that throwing it in the washing machine at the laundromat (cold water), with normal detergent and then stretching it out flat to dry on a towel worked perfectly.  It’s fluffy, soft and white again.  

One last thought, definitely check out Arcadian Pastures if you’re in the market today.  They raise cattle, pigs, sheep and chickens.  I bought some pork chops and I’m definitely trying bacon bit’s recommendation for scallion pancakes tonight.  I also grabbed my favorite cheddar cheese from Central-Valley Farm.  

Happy Monday~ Dairy Queen

Leave a Reply

