It’s Raining, and I’m Late To Work….

by

….and that’s the perfect time to go shop at the Greenmarket! Sure, everyone loves the greenmarket when it’s sunny out – but I love it in the rain. The produce stays cool and moist, and there are NO lines, no people with dogs, no jostling elbows… The greenmarket in the rain is fantastic.

Today, I chatted with John from Muddy River Farm. Today he is the farmer farthest South East – near the big smoking clock thing. He’s got tender young leeks, his brawny staples, young horseradish, and a warm smile. Go check him out. Last year his farm got flooded (see: Muddy River Farm!) and I’m hoping he makes up his losses this year. His produce is sturdy and good. It’s funny sometimes to see how what a person grows reflects their personality πŸ™‚

Yunno’s Farm still has tender asparagus – now for $4 a pound. Mignorelli’s has it for $5. With Yunno’s you save a dollar, and get a smile too πŸ™‚ I saw that Milk Thistle dairy made it down.

The market seemed like a number of vendors hadn’t made it – not as full as most Fridays – but all our staples were there.

Today I am trying a new-to-me beef producer – Grazin’ Angus Acres. He had beef breakfast sausage patties which I tried. I’m not a huge fan of breafast sausage – but this was quite nice. Not heavy on the spice. After the first couple of bites (what can I say, I was hungry and the beef was hot off the grill in the rain!) it just tasted like burger and not sausage. If you recently gave up pork, give these a try. His prices were quite nice, and I’ll be broiling up a NY Strip tonight for dinner. Mmmm.

In other news: You dearly beloved Baconbit (that’s me!) is going to be participating as a judge for food photography contest! Details are at this month’s host: Habeas Brulee! Submit your photos!

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

