Fiddleheads!!!

by

At last! Fiddleheads have arrived at the greenmarket! Two people I saw had them: Berried Treasure and Mountain Berry Farms, at $4 and $3.50 per pint respectively.
I never seem to get around to Max Creek Hatchery but with the advent of fiddleheads I realized I needed protein to go with my new meal that was forming. I stopped off and opted for the farmed Rainbow Trout – a personal favorite fish of mine. Oh, and his rainbow trout ($10 per pound) are GORGEOUS! I just want to sit and look at the glorious skin in rippling incandescent colors all day.

John Madura Mushrooms had the yellow oysters again! They are quite beautiful and very delicious. I used them in my rabbit fricassee. They have a delicate taste and aroma and unlike the grey oyster mushroom – no oyster scent. Sadly, they lose a lot of their color in cooking, but don’t let that stop you from trying these delicious fungal gems.

Beingreen is out on a field trip today, so I picked her up some ramps and tender young minzuna.

For those of you looking for dairy, Ronnybrook is all set up. They seem to have broken their opening-late spree they were on.
In not-Greenmarket news, if you need a quick snackie, I can highly recommend Le Petit Belge just to the west of Union Square on 14th Street, a tiny storefront tucked in between the fast food chains on the southern side of the street. It’s only a few stores in. For $3.50 you can get a big waxpaper cone of tiny puffed pancakes drizzled in chocolate or topped with fresh berries. For the same price you can get a truly magnificent Belgian Waffle (their specialty) – I had mine piled high with perfectly fresh raspberries (not local – but sooooo tasty!) and caramel. Next time I’ll do 100% fruit as their fruit was fantastic! A pleasant (if unhealthy) dinner treat 🙂 The shop is at the site of the former Tavalon tea shop – and for those of us who were Tavalon Tea addicts, it’s a relief to see they are still serving Tavalon Tea.

All in all, a great day at the market!

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Fiddleheads!!!”

  1. Amy Says:

    Holy cow! How early was Ronnybrook setup? There are a couple of jobs I’m looking at that wouldn’t allow for lunchtime market stops, but before work might be doable. And of course I was realizing that meant I might never find the Ronnybrook guys. 🙂 I’d be so happy if they figured out a way to be setup by 8:00. Just on Wednesdays. 🙂

    So, inquiring minds want to know, what exactly do you DO with fiddlehead ferns? I have no clue.

  2. baconbit Says:

    I’m not sure what time they were set up – but by 8:45 when I got there, they were in the swing of things and looked like they had been there a while (they weren’t frantically setting up at 8:45), know what I mean?

    Most people treat fiddleheads just like asparagus – which are the veggie they are closest in taste to as well. The best way to wash them is to fill a bowl with nice cold water and dump the fiddleheads in there. Gently brush away the brown coating on them with your fingers. Maybe trim the ends if they look dried or splayed. Then, sautee, roast, steam, or add at the end of a braise – just as you would do with asparagus.

    They are similar to, and totally different, from asparagus!

    As for dairy folk – there’s another dairy on Friday’s now too.

    I don’t know that many folk are set up BY 8. By 8:30, yes, but I’m not sure by 8, especially as so many are coming from 3 & 4 hour drives away.

Leave a Reply

