Asparagus

by

I saw asparagus today. It may have been there Friday – I didn’t manage to hit the market – but three folks had it today: Yunnos, Maxwell’s, and Phillips. Everyone had it at the same price, so it’s just a matter of whom you favor.

Also at Yunno’s I saw a plethora of spring greens, lovely spring onions, and edible flowers in the salad mix. They need more small change over there, so if you have any $10s, $5s and $1s, they will be grateful.

Maxwell’s hosted a ton of potatoes, some rhubarb – the first I’ve seen this season – some gorgeous herbs, and several varieties of dried beans.

Phillips had small potted plants, and some green onions.

At 8:50, the textile recylcing people were just setting up their table, as were the Windfall Farms folks. So, I’ll be back at lunch to make my textile donation and for a walk around the park in the beautiful weather.

No strawberries yet – but I am hopeful they will come soon with the hot weather. To itch my strawberry itch, I picked up some strawberry-apple juice at Red Jacket orchards. Poor guy got hit with a $50 just before I came up with a $20! I had already spent all my smaller bills at Yunno’s and Maxwell’s. So try and be nice to everyone, and I will make sure to hoard my small bills for Wednesday to balance out my karmic bill debt at the market!

Overall, what a great way to start the week!

~baconbit

2 Responses to “Asparagus”

  1. Amy Says:

    I’ve been feeling a strong urge to make pickles lately. If you start to see pickling cucumbers, PLEASE shout out. :)

  2. baconbit Says:

    It’s a bit early for cukes of any kind. I’ll keep an eye out, but I wouldn’t expect any until late May/early June at earliest. In the meantime, make some asparugus pickles!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

